First Follower: Leadership Lessons from Dancing Guy

I heard of this video from the brilliant Anna Love-Mickelson. It struck a chord with me, because reminds me a lot of what I am trying to do with design thinking at Protective Life. Sometimes, I feel like this shirtless guy dancing. (I kept my shirt on when we did the Harlem Shake). But much of the time, I feel like there is a movement afoot and there are lots of “first followers” that have surrounded me.

I love these lines in the video:

If you are a version of the shirtless dancing guy, all alone, remember the importance of nurturing your first few followers as equals, making everything clearly about the movement, not you.

Be public. Be easy to follow!

But the biggest lesson here – did you catch it?

Leadership is over-glorified.

Yes it started with the shirtless guy, and he’ll get all the credit, but you saw what really happened:

It was the first follower that transformed a lone nut into a leader.

There is no movement without the first follower.

5 thoughts on “First Follower: Leadership Lessons from Dancing Guy

  1. Hi Lance. Nice stuff. Want to follow with me in reaching out directly to consumers to give them core financial planning education using next generation fanancial planning software?

    Steve

  2. Pingback: DTBC Day 0: Be vulnerable | Build To Think

  3. Pingback: Lessons from dancing girl | Build To Think

Leave a Reply

