Creating a #FAIL folder

Last year I created a folder in evernote (I am a huge evernote fan) with the title of “winning.” The idea was that I would forward complimentary emails and notes or add an entry after a successful project, presentation, etc. I think it is important to look back and reflect upon past successes.

That said, I am a huge believer in accepting failure. I love the term “failing forward.”

Almost everyone I admire has had some substantial failures in their lives. They are willing to talk about the events, what they have learned, and how they have grown due to having failed in one way or another. In addition, there are thousands of millionaires in Silicon Valley that have embraced this idea. It has allowed for substantial risk taking and resulted in unprecedented innovation.

This very spirit is embodied in Intuit’s Scott Cook. I love the quote below…

5-19-2013 9-58-18 PM

This article is awesome! Click here for the full version.

Cook gets that failure is a part of learning. It’s refreshing to hear successful people talk about failure. It tends to put me at ease. I know I am hearing from a REAL person, who has made REAL mistakes…just like the same mistakes I make.

With all this in mind, I decided to create a #FAIL folder in evernote. Just like I want to keep track of successes, I should also be noting where I have failed.

I got this idea from Tina Seelig. In one of her courses at Stanford, she would have all the student’s write a #FAIL resume. Think upon this exercise for a moment. Think about how much time you may have spent making your real resume stand out. How you emphazise the resposibility and achievements you may have had from each job. You might even have a professional review and/or write the resume.

Consider spending a similar amount of time on your #FAIL resume. Brainstorm how to make it clear just how badly you f’d up that project at work. Or how you bad you were as a boss…don’t hold back. But just as important, what was it you learned from the failure. This is why Scott Cook is ok with faulure…it enables him to get smarter, wiser, more experienced, etc faster than he would have been if he didn’t fail.

So fill up your fail resume and folder with all sorts of failures. It will help you make sure you are learning from your mistakes.

5-19-2013 9-48-31 PM

2 thoughts on “Creating a #FAIL folder

  1. Pingback: Choose to be excited | Build To Think

  2. Pingback: Never ending work | Build To Think

Leave a Reply

