Talker’s block

In Seth Godin’s amazingly awesome book, The Icarus Deception, he claims that it’s not often that you hear people discuss talker’s block. We talk without thinking about it. We’re not worried about our speech being on a wordpress blog forever. And by talking often, we can improve the way we talk (if we observe what more advanced “talkers” do and put some of these practices into action).

But with writing, it’s entirely different. For me, the fear of blogging about a topic I haven’t thoroughly researched is a little scary as is the permanence of my posts – the idea of what I have typed remaining in the ether for all of time. But as with talking, you have to write frequently to get better.

A brilliant friend of mine who has written a book and contributed to several other works recounts that while he was writing his PhD, his goal was to write something everyday. He might not have finished with research necessary to finish a chapter, but he wrote anyway. He would write about anything remotely relevant to his dissertation topic. He wanted to improve and to do this he had to take a risk that what he would write would miss the mark.

Inspired by Seth Godin and my friend, I see that I need to write more. I haven’t blogged in almost two weeks. In two weeks I’ve watched a couple of TED talks, read a book, and observed all sorts of problems and otherwise interesting topics that I might blog about. But I’ve let the desire for perfection get in the way of me honing my craft.

In order to create a habit, I am challenging myself to blog something everyday for the next month. I may lose every reader I have, but I feel like I need to this to hone my craft. I hope you enjoy some of what you read.

Thanks being interested in my work and helping me become a better writer.

Lance

3 thoughts on “Talker’s block

  1. I’d venture to say that writing is just speaking with your fingers and speaking is just writing with your mouth. They are essentially the same act – the creation of narrative, story, and meaning through words.

    The closer I bring those two together, the better I become at both.

    I’ve never experienced writers block. Yes, sometimes I can’t figure out the next step in a novel, but that doesn’t mean I can’t write, just that my writers gut is telling me to work on something different for a day. After all, we don’t talk about the same thing day after day after day, but there are those themes we might come back to every other day for a year. (ie, if you’re a farmer, not every conversation you have is about farming, but many are)

    Just write what you feel. The longer you do it, the more you know what you’re really good at writing. Chances are, it will be what you like writing best, so you’ll do it all the time and just keep getting better at it.

    • Thanks so much for this input. I love the advice of writing what you feel.

      One follow up question, what’s the best way of getting feedback from better writers? If I wanted to get better at a sport, say tennis, I know part of the process is to practice, practice, practice, but I would also take some lessons. Or ask advice from tennis players that are better with me.

      What’s the best way to approach someone who’s writing you admire? Just to ask? Or is it all about reading really good writing and picking up on what makes really good writing?

      Thanks again for your input on my blog.

  2. Pingback: In the arena | Build To Think

Leave a Reply

