Looking for a better way to get up out of bed

In response to the Daily Prompt (Can’t Drive 55): ”Take the third line of the last song you heard, make it your post title, and write for a maximum of 15 minutes. GO!”

How do you feel each morning when you wake up? Is it hopeful or pessimistic? Tired or well rested? Beaten down or upbeat?

A better question is what gets you out of bed? You might say that it is having to go to work, or going to school. But do you have to do any of those things? You could find another job or quit school. Maybe you are going to work or school, but you have quit in some sense. There is no joy in it for you anymore.

Where do you find joy? For me, a lot of joy comes from the journey. Everyday I have a chance to grow and to serve others. Sadly, these are not the first thoughts on my mind when I “get up out of bed.”

I admit, that I don’t challenge myself enough. As much as I want to be stretched, days where life is predictable feel pretty good. I want to get to a point where I am taking risk professionally and personally, so that each day has something unknown.

One thing that has been an unknown for the past week is “what am I going to blog about today?” Some days it comes easy, others it is hard. I am feeling like it will be difficult to get through 31 days straight of blog posts – I hope that the quality is there, but in the end I want to get in the habit of writing more.

Ok…I am past my 15 minutes, so I will leave it there. My song was Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore

3 thoughts on “Looking for a better way to get up out of bed

  1. Pingback: What’s my work really like? | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: Oh, All My Friends Are Turning Green [A Vignette/Flash Fiction] | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

