I was named after a dog

In response to the Daily Prompt (What’s in a Name?): ”Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?”

Poole_1139

Lance

Here’s another installment in the “My life is an open book” series. You did not misread the title. I was named after a dog. My dad can try and deny this, but I the proof is in the picture above.

The story goes something like this…my parents married and moved to a small house in the country. My dad loved the next door neighbor’s dog. You could say that he loved the dog “like a son”. Two years went by and my parents moved into a new house in another neighborhood. In just a few months, I was born and they had to decide upon a name. I’m not sure what all the options were, but Lance is what stuck.

There are no Lances in my family tree. There wasn’t an old college roommate of my dad’s named Lance. The most famous Lances of the time were Lance Parrish, catcher for the Detroit Tigers, and Lance Alworth, hall of fame NFL wide-receiver, both unlikely choices for my namesake. The only Lances in pop culture held small bit roles in Meatballs and American Graffiti. Again, doubtful that these Lances had any influence.

There is also the times that Lance (the dog) would come up. My mom’s response would always be “Oh! Your daddy loved that dog.”

I’m no Matlock, but the evidence seems to point strongly to me being named after a dog. But hey, I’m not upset. From what I gather, the Lance to which I owe my name, was one hell of a dog. Just check out the vertical in the picture below.

Poole_1141

Lance the dog

So you might be thinking, “you’re taking being named after a dog pretty well.” And you would be right…there are several benefits of being named after a dog:

1. No pretension – I’m extremely proud of my family. They are some of the hardest working people I know. Each generation has had more than the generation before. But being named after a dog, you know that you have no claim to be next in line to the Earl of Grantham and that you will never be master of Pemberly. And in my book, pretension is out and humility is in!

Imagine if my name was Hastings Carrington Longfellow VI, heir to the Longfellow estate. I personally, would have a difficult time staying humble.

2. No connection, every connection – while my first name likely comes from a lovable K-9, my middle name is my mother’s maiden name. I don’t feel particularly connected to one individual, as I would if I was named after my great uncle or a famous Alabama football coach. But I feel extremely connected to both sides of my family. My middle and last name connect me to all of my fore bearers.

As you can see, I love my name and I’m perfectly o.k. with being named after one awesome dog. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to check on my son, Boomer.

4 thoughts on “I was named after a dog

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: What is in the name… | Me: A Wannabe-Superhero

  3. Pingback: What’s in a name? | Natasha's Memory Garden

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

