Young Folks

November is National Blog Post Month (NaBloPoMo). This post is part of my post-a-day challenge. I have picked a theme for the challenge: song titles. These songs have been featured on live albums from KEXP (an awesome alternative radio station in Seattle), so at a minimum you will hear some great music.

I love being around young folks. In many cases, people younger than me push me with new ways of thinking and they tend to be more receptive to change. I love the optimism associated with those who are just starting out in their careers, or with my children, just starting out in life.

I want to say to them “Stay gold, Ponyboy. Stay gold.”

The other aspect of young folks that I appreciate is that they need me. They may not always know that (especially my kids), but I have real life experience to share. I can contribute to their advancement in real and meaningful ways.

I want to be known as someone who cares about developing young folks. I have had (and continue to have) many people in my life who spend time mentoring me. I want others to count on me in the same way.

Surround yourself with young folks. Watch them push you and give back where you can.

One thought on “Young Folks

  1. I agree that spending time with young folks is entertaining and educational. Not having kids myself, I enjoy talking and playing with the kids of my friends where I learn what the latest trends are in tech use, language, and pop culture. It keeps me fresh and let’s me jump in a bounce house every now and then.

Leave a Reply

